SRII Special Interest Group on Knowledge-Intensive Service Systems

Knowledge-Intensive Service Systems (KISS)

KISS: Beneficiaries of the SIG

A broad definition of Knowledge-Intensive Service Sectors has been propounded by the European Union (Eurostat) recognising the need to differentiate among service sectors  Eurostat has now introduced the concept of “Knowledge-Intensive Services” (see

They are categorised as follows:

1. Knowledge-intensive high-technology services

a. Post and telecommunications
b. Computer and related activities
c. Research and development 

2. Knowledge-intensive market services

a. Water transport
b. Air transport
c. Real estate activities
d. Renting of machinery and equipment without operator and of personal and household goods
e. Other business activities

3. Knowledge-intensive financial services

a. Financial intermediation ( except insurance and pension funding

b. Insurance and pension funding, except compulsory social security
c. Activities auxiliary to financial intermediation

4. Other knowledge-intensive services

a. Education
b. Health and social work
c. Recreational, cultural and sporting activities

The basis for this classification rests on the share of high-skill (=graduate) employees in the workforce of each sector.